Well Edited Free eBooks

from – http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=987So, my wife got me thinking about good free eBooks. She’s been trying to read one I downloaded a while back for the iPad called 29 Jobs and A Million Lies. She’s complained about how the mistakes and misspellings have made it impossible for her to read the book. She likes it, she wants to read it, but she has gotten so annoyed that she can’t. I feel the same way. She asked me for suggestions for well edited, free eBooks and I thought I’d go ahead type one up. This list is only from my personal experience, unfortunately, and therefore will be limited in scope. I generally read sci-fi and fantasy. For you avid readers out there that want to suggest a book or you authors that want to recommend your own, go ahead and comment below or email me from the contact form. I’ll either have a separate list for you, or I’ll read a selection to see if you are right and add it to mine. We’ll see. Remember, this is about editing not about the quality of the writing. I’m not saying these are great stories (but they mostly are), just that they are well edited. So, here it goes:

Book Author Link Notes
Blood That Bonds, The Christopher Buecheler http://writing.cwbuecheler.com/ Finished. Stupid name for a main character and a bit hard to get through at the beginning but a fine read. A vampire story.
Bob Moore: No Hero Tom Andry http://www.tomandry.com/books/ My book. A detective story set in a world of super powered humans.
Boulder Bruce Blake http://www.bruceblake.net/ Finished. Short sci-fi war tale. A bit predictable but overall okay.
Demon Girl, The Penelope Fletcher http://www.thedemongirl.com/ I stopped reading this because of the unbelievable love story and not the editing. Fantasy story in the vein of Twilight.
First Light Chronicles: Omnibus, The Randolph Lalonde http://randolphlalonde.blogspot.com/ Finished. Light science fiction read harkening back to pulp sci-fi.
Free to Die Bob McElwain http://foremostpress.com/readers/mcelwain_b/ Finished. Detective story.
Gauntlet Thrown, The Cheryl Dyson http://xcpublishing.livejournal.com/ I’m through the first two chapters and am still reading. High praise these days. Fantasy setting. Haven’t gotten to any magic yet.
Ice Cracker II Lindsay Buroker http://www.lindsayburoker.com/book-news/ Finished. The first thing an editor would do would be to convince the author that the 2 at the end of the title is confusing. It is the name of the ship, not the number of the book in the series. A fantasy story that I really liked.
Jason Cosmo: Hero Wanted Dan McGirt http://www.jasoncosmo.com/ Finished. Loved this book. Funny fantasy.
Overtime Charles Stross http://www.antipope.org/charlie/ Finished. Cthulhu-like story set in England. Once you get past the regional language it is a fine read.
Silver Shells: A Werewolf Gunslinger Tale Volume 1 MT Murphy http://luciferaspet.com/default.aspx Finished. A short werewolf story set in the Wild West.
Stitches: A Werewolf Gunsligher Tale Volume 2 MT Murphy http://luciferaspet.com/default.aspx Finished. A short werewolf story set in the Wild West.
The Kind Gods Carolyn Kephart http://home.comcast.net/~kephart/ Finished. Another fantasy short. Well written and interesting.
Weight of Blood, The David Dalglish http://ddalglish.com/ Finished. Dark but entertaining fantasy story.
Witness to Dust Tennessee Hicks http://www.tennesseehicks.com/ Finished. Sci-fi short.
Zombie Nights Tom Lichtenberg http://www.pigeonweather.com/ Finished. A zombie tale from the other side.